Project 1: Chance & Indeterminacy

Following Traffic Part 1:

The goal of my experiment is to create a work of art by following the traffic patterns. I live on a fairly busy street and I thought it would be interesting to see how traffic patterns could create art.

The steps neccessary to complete this project are as follows:

Step 1: I prepare myself with two colored markers, one red and one green and a clean sheet of paper

Step 2: I sit on my porch facing north for thirty minutes and watch traffic pass.

Step 3: I mark the cars that come from the east and move towards the west with a red pen and the cars that move from the from the west to the east with a green pen. When the cars turn towards the north at the e nd of the street I note that by continuing the line upward on my paper. When the cars turn towards the south I note that by continuing the line downwards.

The outcome is unpredictable, after thirty minutes of following traffic patterns I saw thirty-nine cars and it created an interesting pattern.Snapchat--258678435806188616IMG_5898

Leave a Reply

