Exercise 5: Virtual Placemaking in Google Earth

For this exercise, I chose to place markers in three different places that I felt that I felt best described my topic. I believe that climate change and global warming are very serious issues today that are overlooked by many people. Many people don’t care about the effects of global warming because it will not effect them directly but it will effect their relatives to come.

I focused on three main ways that global warming is in effect today and how it is changing environments. The three pressing issues I chose were Malaria in Kenya, caused by climate change (goes into further detail on Google Earth marker), melting glaciers atop and along the sides of Mt. Kilimanjaro, and permafrost melting in Greenland. I chose these things because they are not issues that we necessarily have to deal with in our location of Manhattan Kansas, but it is important to recognize them.

Leave a Reply

